top of page

Just the 3 of us to Jervis Bay

Another early start with a sensational sunrise as we left Cronulla on Saturday morning - just the 3 of us...

There was a surprisingly big swell going out through the heads and it was still quite dark, no other boats around and just me, Pete and Ayla on board. I'm not going to lie...I did have a little moment of concern as to whether or not this was really something I was comfortable with. I was at the helm and motoring over these waves and Pete kept looking at me and asking if I was okay...Hmmmm, sure...for now... But I have to say, Gradiva just moved through the swell as though it was nothing. It only took a few tosses from side to side before I realised I had complete faith in this sturdy sail boat. Pete assured me he had been through stuff 10 times bigger coming across from Noumea and I believed him. Call me crazy but he hasn't let me down yet! If "Safety Boy" was prepared to do this then so was I!!

As soon as we got out of the heads and started to head south, we were heading straight into another head wind, and a few hours later there was hardly any wind at all... Pete and Ayla had a little nap and I was left in charge and just felt so comfortable in this new adventure. With Gradiva in Auto Helm, I went to the bow of the boat for a better look out for any fishing boats or fishing nets we might run into. Even took a few selfies!

Look how smooth the water was! It was mirror-like for hours. Just gorgeous out here on the open water!

Dolphins came and played in our waves!

And then more came as we motored into Jervis Bay...

We droppped anchor just off Scottish Rocks, near Hole in the Wall, in the south eastern end of the Bay. Such a stunning area. I can only imagine what it would look like on a sunny day.

Pete's cousin Vicki, her husband Warren and their eldest son Andrew came to visit us that afternoon. We stayed on the anchor that night and then moved onto one of the moorings when other boast left the following morning. It was pretty much stormy and rainy the whole time we were in Jervis Bay but it was nice and relaxing and we had a few walks along the beach and some lovely swims. Also gave us an opportunity to go through a few of the many little cupboards and hidey holes that Gradiva has and sort out what we have on board.

There's Gradiva in all her glory, front and centre of the below pic and Ayla collecting more shells. Even under the storm clouds you can appreciate how beautiful this place is. I've spent lots of time further round at Hyams Beach, Vincentia and Huskisson but never this far south. Just so peaceful...


Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
bottom of page